Board members are appointed by the Senedd Commission and hold office for a fixed term of five years. Membership of the current Board is noted below.

Dr Elizabeth Haywood (Chair)

Elizabeth is currently a Board member of Natural Resources Wales, Hendre Group and the charity Leonard Cheshire. She chairs NRW’s Flood Risk Management Committee, and sits on Leonard Cheshire’s Audit and Risk and Remuneration Committees. She was previously a Board member of Scottish Power Energy Networks, an independent member of the Welsh Audit Office’s Remuneration Board, and inaugural Chair of WCVA Services Ltd. She also chaired the Welsh Government’s Ministerial Task Force on City Regions.

Her early career was spent in the European Parliament and the Welsh Development Agency, before being appointed Director of CBI Wales, Communications Director of the Association of Train Operating Companies and then running an executive search firm based in Cardiff and London.
She has a degree from Cardiff University, a PhD and an honorary doctorate from Swansea, was the recipient of the first Welsh Woman of the Year Award and is an honorary Fellow of Trinity St David’s University.
Elizabeth was appointed as Chair of the Independent Remuneration Board of the Senedd in June 2020.

Ronnie Alexander

Ronnie is a former Chief Environmental Health Officer for Welsh Government. He is a Consumer Advocate for the Consumer Council for Water and is a member of the Welsh Food Advisory Committee. In addition, Ronnie is a Non-Executive Director for Estyn, Independent Chair of the Standards Committee at Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council and has membership of the Standards Committees for the South Wales Fire and Rescue Service and the Vale of Glamorgan Council. He also chairs the Independent Remuneration Panel on Members Allowances for Bath and North East Somerset Council and is a Panel Member for Bristol City Council.
Ronnie had a civil service career spanning over 20 years when the issues of climate change and sustainability were particular interests. Prior to that, he worked for a number of local authorities in Northern Ireland and England in areas such as enforcement and strategic support services. He has a considerable track record of engaging with the public, professionals and politicians at all levels to influence policy.
Ronnie’s appointment to the Board was confirmed by the Assembly Commission in June 2017. He took up the position in July 2017.

Michael Redhouse

Michael Redhouse is currently Principal of EMES Consulting, which he founded in 2002, helping many major organisations with their remuneration and benefits issues. Michael graduated in mathematics from the Open University, and his career included spells as a Partner at Ernst and Young, and as Employment Policy Director at Diageo. Michael served as a Trustee of the APEX Trust, which supports offenders returning to work, and as Chair of Trustees of St. Luke’s Hospice in Harrow.
Michael is a Member of the School Teachers’ Review Body (STRB), which looks into pay, professional duties and working time of school teachers in England and Wales and reports to the Secretary of State.
Michael has been a member of the Independent Remuneration Board since 2015.

Jane Roberts

Jane is Research Fellow in Public Leadership at The Open University Business School.
Jane was Leader of the London Borough of Camden Council from 2000 to 2005 following which she has served in a range of non-executive roles including as Chair of the Councillors Commission for the Department of Communities and Local Government, Chair of Parenting UK, a member of the Ofsted board, Chair of New Local Government Network and currently Chair of the charity, Living Streets. She is also a member of the Advisory Group of the Welsh Centre for Public Policy. Jane was appointed a DBE in 2004. Professionally, she is a medical doctor and is an Honorary Consultant Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist with experience of senior healthcare management in the NHS.
Jane has published a number of academic articles in paediatrics, psychiatry and politics. She co-edited ‘The Politics of Attachment’ (1996) with Sebastian Kraemer and is the author of ‘Losing Political Office’ (2017).
Jane has been a member of the Independent Remuneration Board since 2015.

Hugh Widdis

Hugh is the ‎Head of the Government Legal Service for Northern Ireland, and Departmental Solicitor for the ‎Northern Ireland Executive.. He has 20 years of experience in parliamentary services and government legal services. Prior to joining the Northern Ireland Executive, Hugh was Director of Legal and Governance Services for the Northern Ireland Assembly.
He has previously worked in research, as a barrister in private practice and as an in-house lawyer in a leading financial services provider. He has also worked in the Scottish Parliament’s legal office, and on discrimination law in the Office of the First Minister and deputy First Minister. He was a member of the Welsh Assembly Commission’s Audit and Risk Assurance Committee (ACARAC) from 2012 until 2019. Hugh is a barrister and member of the Bar of Ireland and the Bar of Northern Ireland.
Hugh was appointed to the Independent Remuneration Board in June 2020.